New release: Sarah McKenzie ‘We could be lovers’

From the media release
Album released October 31

Sarah McKenzie - We Could Be LoversARIA Award-winning singer-pianist-composer Sarah McKenzie will release her brand new album ‘We Could Be Lovers’ on October 31, followed by a national tour which has just been extended.

Fresh from wowing audiences at the esteemed 57th Annual Monterey Jazz Festival last month, Sarah will bring her accomplished musicianship home to Australia for five very special shows: kicking off at the prestigious Wangaratta Jazz & Blues Festival on November 2 and continuing through Sydney, Perth and Melbourne.

Recorded in the States with Grammy Award-winning producer Brian Bacchus, ‘We Could Be Lovers’ features a number of Sarah’s own compositions (including ‘That’s It, I Quit’ and ‘We Could Be Lovers’), along with fresh new arrangements of timeless classics by Cole Porter, Gershwin and Henry Mancini among others. Sarah is joined by an international line-up of musicians including Ingrid Jensen (trumpet), Warren Wolf (vibraphone) and Marco Valeri (drums and percussion).

“Already in full possession of an individualistic voice is the young singer-pianist Sarah McKenzie.” DownBeat

“I think she’s fantastic.  She gives me hope for the future of music.” Michael Feinstein


Tour dates

Sunday 2 November               St Patrick’s Hall, Wangaratta Jazz & Blues Festival, VIC
Tickets HERE

Friday 7 November                 Sound Lounge, Seymour Centre, Sydney NSW
(Sydney International Women’s Jazz Festival)
Tickets HERE

Saturday 8 November             Ellington Jazz Club, WA
Tickets HERE

Wednesday 12 November      Bennett’s Lane Jazz Club, Melbourne VIC

Thursday 13 November          Bennett’s Lane Jazz Club, Melbourne VIC

Track listing

1. I Was Doing Alright
2. That’s It, I Quit!
3. We Could Be Lover
4. Tight
5. At Long Last Love
6. I Won’t Dance
7. Love You Madly
8. Quoi, Quoi, Quoi
9. The Music Is The Magic
10. Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?)
11. Moon River